IPv4 IPv6

IPv4 and IPv6 Graphical Illustration


Internet Protocol version 4 (IPv4) is the widely used protocol for data communication over different kind of networks. It is the fourth version of the Internet Protocol (IP). It is a connectionless protocol used in packet-switched layer networks, such as Ethernet. IPv4 uses 32-bit addresses. IPv4 has five classes for Ethernet communication.

There are five types of classes A, B, C, D and E. Classes A, B and C have a different bit length for addressing the network host. Class D addresses are reserved for multicasting, while class E addresses are reserved for future use. Class A has subnet mask or /8, B has subnet mask or /16 and class C has subnet mask or /24. For example, with a /16 subnet mask, the network may use the address range of to IPv4 can be assigned to a maximum of 232 end users.


Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) is the most recent version of the Internet Protocol (IP), the communications protocol that provides an identification and location system for computers on networks and routes traffic across the Internet. IPv6 is intended to replace IPv4. IPv4 has only 4.3 billion addresses but IPv6 uses 128-bit addresses and is capable of 340 undecillion addresses.

Different between IPv4 and IPv6

IPv4 IPv6
IPv4 address is 32-bit length IPv6 addresses are 128-bit length
It’s represented in decimal It’s represented in hexadecimal
Check sum is available in IPv4 No check sum in IPv6
Address resolution protocol available to map IPv4 address to MAC address. Address resolution protocol is replaced Neighbour Discovery Protocol.
Broadcast message are available Broadcast message are not available
IPv4 requires manual or dynamic configure. Auto-configuration of address is available.
No packet flow identification  Packet flow identification is available


Tagged in:

, , ,